“Garlic and Sapphires” – A Book Good Enough to Eat

Book Review: Garlic and Sapphires, The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise

by Ruth Reichl

After reading too many books with dragons, faires and mythical worlds it is very refreshing to read Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires.

We are brought on a real journey, though still magical journey of New York with Reichl as the food critic for the New York Times. Following her personal journey reviewing restaurants help us, as the reader, to also taste the twists of life as she gains personal wisdom.

The first scenes on a plane remind me of the appetizer with enough crunch to make the reader hungry for more. The entre of the book is stranger than fiction at times as she dons elaborate costumes to avoid being detected by the restaurants. There were moments when I actually laughed out loud reading the antics of the costumed Reichl. The most interesting thing happens as she takes on different clothes and names that she discovers parts of herself that have been unknown, repressed and at times despised. Garlic and Sapphires is a coming of age book for women in their 40’s as Reichl comes to understand her mother, herself and others better. The dessert of Garlic and Sapphires is when she realizes she wants more in her life than what she has been served. My only real complaint is I wished to have just a bit more dessert.

3 1/2  out of 5 stars

Bon Appetit!

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

