“Wings” – One Inappropriate Statement Can Change an Entire Novel

Book Review : Wings by Aprilynne Pike

Spoiler Alert!

Laurel has lived a secluded life with her parents when suddenly her world is upset by moving. Not only is she sent to a public school, but she feels confused and lost among so many people as she begins to experience unexpected magical changes. She is quickly befriended by David and his group of friends. A bump on her back grows at and alarming rate finally expanding into a blossom that suspiciously looks like wings. David, who loves science, turns out to be a great support as Laurel tries to understand what is happening to her. Laurel returns to her old home and while there she meets a young man, Tamani, who has been watching / guarding her for years. He holds the key for Laurel to understand herself and her world.

Adult Point of View

Wings has been written for tween girls and fans of the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyers. On the positive side, Wings has a creative twist that I thought was very fun. In this world Faeries are the most highly developed form of plant life and had evolved prior to humans. As a plant, faeries obviously have to be pollinated to have children and this is why female faeries have such large blossoms that resemble wings. The faeries have retreated to Avalon protected and sequestered with only a few access gates to the human world. Trolls and humans cannot enter the faerie world. The faerie world has developed based upon a caste system. Even the more highly ranked faeries have to work to learn how to use their magic. On the negative side, there is a remark by Tamani that “Sex is just for fun” that I find inappropriate to suggest to such a young audience. Promiscuity leads to early teen pregnancy, low self esteem and the spread of STD’s. When children closely associate themselves with the characters it is reasonable to believe they will emulate the characters making the idea of sex without consequences a dangerous scenario in the real world. The second novel in the series, Spells, repeats this same statement and states the Summer Solstice is a time when the faeries have “fun”, which translated means, casual sex with no consequences is fun. I edited out these statements to feel comfortable for my 13 year old to read Wings. There are also a few swear words that felt out of place for some of the characters. I would have given the novel a higher rating for creativity if it had skipped the “sex is for fun” statement with a target audience of 13 – 16 year olds.

2.75 stars out of 5

– the Mother

Illusions is now out, and interestingly the “sex is fun” statements are completely absent making this book a fairly clean read. I was feeling rather bored from the same old love triangle in this book in the series until the end when Pike begins to pull the stray threads together. How such a large, secret sect of fairies has been sequestered away from the established fairies and to decipher their intentions, which are seemingly hostile, will be fuel for the next book. It is interesting to note that the author obviously knows where she wants to go with the series because the ground work was laid in the first novel that has some explanation in Illustions. I will also note that my daughter continues to love this book even though she has not had time to add to her review.

Teen Point of View

I absolutely loved this book! It is unlike any book in the faerie genre I have read before. I love the characters and all the romance in the pages. I think it is a extremely fun, and enjoyable read for teenage girls. I don’t think boys would enjoy this book as much as girls. I think the author could have made the faerie world more unique, other books have summer, spring, fall and winter faeries in it. I loved the plot, and the action in it. All in all I would give it a thumbs up.

4 stars out of 5

-the Teen

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

