A Request For Classics

I have received requests from friends to write reviews on some classics, especially those that the young adults are reading in school. Obviously, I won’t be able to do every classic, however, if you are hoping to see a specific book reviewed let me know and I will do my best.

Some of the classics might even include a brief statement from my son 16 year old son in addition to my daughter. This son loved to read when he was in elementary school, but that changed with the discovery of lacrosse, girls and cars (not necessarily in that order). It will be interesting to see how his opinion varies from mine and his sister’s. As always I do not edit my childrens’ opinions because it is their opinion.

I love many classic books because of the universal themes. I also despise a few of the classics, The Sound and the Fury comes to mind. The writing style of the classics are harder for kids to read because they usually are in third person, have longer sentence structure and longer descriptive passages. Even with this barrier, I have found that my kids can enjoy the classics and value them for their messages. I hope this category will interest you.

-Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in literary classics in review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

