“Nightshade” – Feels Like I’ve Read This Plot in “Twilight”

Book Review: Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Spoiler Alert!

Calla Tor breaks the rules when she saves a human’s life. Calla has known her destiny, as the alpha of her pack, that she is to be mated to the alpha, Ren Laroche, forming a new pack. She is thrown into turmoil by her unexpected feelings for this human boy, Shay. If she follows her heart she could destroy her pack and all that the Guardians (werewolves) have been protecting for the Keepers. But, there is more to Shay than she originally realized. The Keepers expect the pack to protect Shay until they need him to fulfill his destiny.

Adult Point of View

I believe I rolled my eyes a minimum of 100 times as I read the first third of the book. I kept hearing a sarcastic voice in my head re-writing the scenes as if “Nightshade” was a B-movie. The love triangle with supernatural creatures and a frail human was too much like “Twilight” and I wasn’t even going to finish the novel. I forced myself to finish “Nightshade” to be more accurate in the review. The last two thirds of the novel did have some twists developing characteristics of other supernatural beings, unfortunately, I cannot say that I was enchanted.

Again I offer you a spoiler alert before you read more of a list of key elements.

Werewolves are able to drink pack blood to heal. (Sounds like a werewolf/vampire combo)

Keepers are witches with the ability to call wraiths.

Wraiths feed off pain and will kill werewolves or others as commanded.

Incubus can be disguised as statues and feed off emotion.

Searchers are looking for sacred places of power and for the Scion.

The Scion is in the middle of the Searchers and Keepers.

The Keepers have rewritten history giving werewolves belief they are fulfilling sacred duty.

Werewolves are in fact enslaved by Keepers.

Shay is turned into a werewolf to save Calla’s life, which is against the rules.

Shay is the Scion, who is to be sacrificed at Calla and Ren’s Union.

The teenage love scenes are quite lusty and I feel inappropriate for young teens. There are two gay werewolves. Cursing is peppered through the text that is not instrumental for the plot. The plot and other literary devices were fairly predictable making it laborious to read. I cannot recommend this book, however, I will say that there will be readers, who are not very discriminating, that will love reading “Nightshade” because it feels a lot like “Twilight” though more descriptive in the love scenes.

– the Mother

And two stars is probably too generous.

Teen Point of View is not present because she was not allowed to read “Nightshade”. Even she said the description on the jacket cover seemed silly.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Nightshade” – Feels Like I’ve Read This Plot in “Twilight”

  1. Keep up the excellent work , I read few articles on this web site and I conceive that your weblog is really interesting and has got lots of wonderful info .

    • I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the reviews. My daughter and I also take suggestions into consideration of what we will review next if you have a favorite or a turkey. Best wishes for your reading!

Leave a Reply

