“Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters” – Something Every Parent Will Want to Read

Book Review : Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters:                                                                 10 Secrets Every Father Should Know

                               by Dr. Meg Meeker

Dr. Meeker has a powerful voice outlining perils in society, traps and our own fears in trying to raise our daughters. At times this is a frightening book to read because of blunt statistics and heartrending stories from girl’s lives. As hard as it might be to read it is equally important to listen to this timely message to save our daughters.

One of the best things about Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters is that it outlines what fathers will want to know (and mothers too), however, these secrets are not impossible, they are the characteristics of how men already think and act. It is amazing to learn that by having that father be just that, a father, is in fact what girls need. This book does not try to turn fathers into mothers, or anything else that would be unnatural to a man. A clear message in the book is that many underestimate the influence a father has in his daughter’s life, but once a father knows these secrets he will have an even greater influence for good. What good father wouldn’t want to know how to help his daughter?

As I read this book I gained insight into myself as an adult woman, understanding the powerful influence my father has played in my life. I highly recommend this book for every family, for any man that has a daughter and anyone who has a son that will marry someone’s daughter. I believe that covers nearly everyone.

The 10 secrets include:

1 – Dad is the most important man in her life (you have more influence than you ever knew)

2 – She needs a hero (someone to look up to and admire)

3 – Dad is her first love (every man in her life will be compared to Dad and her choices affected by how her Dad has treated her)

4 – Teach her humility (the ability to know who she is and to value others)

5 – Protect her, Defend her (have a plan of defense and it needs to start early)

6 – Pragmatism and Grit, two of mens’ greatest assets (lessons for girls that you can determine your own happiness through your own actions, as much as is needed)

7 – Be the kind of man you want your daughter to marry (because she will)

8 – Teach her who God is (she will need Him when you fail her,which will happen at times)

9 – Teach her to fight (she has to be able to say “NO”)

10 – Keep her connected (she needs time with you, face to face)

Definitely 5 out of 5 stars

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in All Time Favorites, grown up books reviewed, Self-Help Books Reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters” – Something Every Parent Will Want to Read

  1. How can I get in touch via email?
    Best regards,
    Meg Meeker

    • You are welcome to contact me directly, let me know if you are still interested and I will give you my email. I don’t want to permanently leave my email listed in the responses. Thanks

Leave a Reply

