“A Discovery of Witches” – Vampire, Witches and Daemons, OH MY!

Book Review : A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Spoiler Alert!

Diana Bishop comes from a long line of witches, though she refuses to use her powers. As a scholar, Diana, has been doing research in Oxford’s Bodleian Library on Alchemy to understand the relationship of humans with magic and science. During her search she finds a spellbound book, Ashmole 782, which was believed to be lost. Realizing it is filled with magic she chooses to send it back into the depths of the Bodleian, but not before other creatures realize it has been found. She is inundated with daemons, vampires and other witches who all want to know what secrets Ashmole 782 has been hiding for 100’s of years. Mathew Clairmont, a powerful vampire, becomes the one to protect Diana from these outside forces and he might even help her find herself.

Adult Point of View

I would like to point out that I am sucked dry from vampire books since the influx from the cult-like response to Twilight. To take into account my disinterest in vampires I have made a pros and cons list. Though the pros list is longer, the cons list is the weightier, and I cannot particularly recommend this book.

Pros                                                                      Cons

1 – Sophisticated writing                                  Majority of plot taken from Twilight

2- Good character development                     Diana & Mathew parallel to Bella & Edward

3- Interesting historical references               Descriptive sensual scenes for sensitive reader

4- Fun descriptions of wine                             At times, coarse language

(I know nothing on this subject)

5- Introduction of new elements,                 Too many tedious details

such as time travel

6- The next book in the series should be

more interesting because she has already

used everything available from Twilight

If this book had been written prior to Twilight I would have enjoyed it a lot more. If you have not been exposed to the Twilight phenomenon and enjoy supernatural books you will probably enjoy A Discover of Witches.

I have struggled to know how many stars to give this particular read because I was caught enough that I wanted to finish it, however, every element taken from Twilight made me groan out loud.

2.25 stars out of 5

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

