“Relic Master – The Dark City” – Another Amazing Book by Catherine Fisher

Book Review : Relic Master series

                         The Dark City by Catherine Fisher

Spoiler Alert!

Anara is a world on the brink of disaster with the overthrow of the old emperor and the installment of the Watch as the new government. The Watch has been trying to suppress the old Order of Relic Masters and deny the magic they wield. The general population is frightened of the Watch and secretly revere the Order even asking for blessings if the opportunity arises. Abominations created by the Maker Kest are numerous and always dangerous. The Sekoi have no quarrel with the Order, but are enemies to the Watch.

Galen, one of the few remaining Relic Masters, and his apprentice Raffi are searching for the Crow that has the power of the Makers safely hidden from the Watch. Galen has been plagued by the loss of his magic after handling a particularly dangerous relic and frustrated to be dependent upon the magical skills of his apprentice. As Carys, a spy from the Watch, travels with the Keepers the danger escalates as they enter the dark city.

Adult Point of View

The Relic Master series was published prior to Incarceron in the UK and, as expected, is less sophisticated than Fisher’s more recent novels. Even with this in consideration I have to say I have thoroughly enjoyed the Relic Master series.

I also enjoyed the mix of technology with the unexplained magic these pieces hold and the way the magic is used by the Order. I like how Fisher withholds certain pieces of information and then will slowly reveal more through the course of the series. From near the beginning we can identity a relic as a telescope and I have wondered what some of the other relics might be. Some relics I can identify and others I cannot. Another clue to the happenings on Anara is that we are told the Sekoi, a cat-like race who loves gold, existed prior to the coming of the Makers. The Makers have left behind a legacy that is vastly left unexplained and misunderstood, however, we are told about Kest making abominations that still act as a plague upon the face of the land. We have not been told how the Watch has come to power and why they have their goals of destruction, perhaps more will be revealed soon.

Catherine Fisher is now on my list of authors worth reading, I am greatly looking forward to what she will write next.

3.75 stars out of 5

– the Mother

– I have now read the next two books and I can see how Fisher developed some ideas from this series for Incarceron. I am anxious for the last in this series because I have found it thoroughly enjoyable. The plot grows in complexity with each addition to the series.

Readers who enjoyed this book might like to read books by Cinda Williams Chima.

Teen Point of View

I loved Relic Master! I found it exciting with lots of twists. There are a lot of questions left unanswered that will be found out in later books. I am very excited for the sequels and more work from this author. I think this book is great for teens and young adults. I loved the characters and how they grow.

4 out of 5 stars

-the Daughter

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in All Time Favorites, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

