“Theodore Boone, Kid Lawyer” – A Grisham Novel For Kids

Book Review : Theodore Boone, Kid Lawyer by John Grisham

Spoiler Alert!

Theo is a precocious only child. His parents are both lawyers and so it is only natural that Theo dreams of becoming a great trial lawyer in the courtroom. His passion for the law consumes all hours of the day, and sometimes the night.

Both children and adults seek out legal advice from this savvy middle school student because of his broad understanding of the law. During the course of a client coming to Theo, he gains information that is potentially dangerous. He can no longer be a simple spectator in the sensational murder trial, he has become a key factor.

Theo finds himself in a moral dilemna of keeping his word and allowing a cold-blooded killer to walk free. Justice must be served and Theo is the man for the job.

Adult Point of View

I thoroughly enjoyed Grisham bringing the legal thriller into children’s literature. He has kept the legalities quite simple which will help children understand the setting while not getting bogged down in the ticky details. There were also a few story lines that didn’t get developed. I particularly liked Theo’s character that he had such a thirst for justice and was still compassionate.

There were a few red flags that Grisham is not familiar with young teenagers. For example, Theo states that only a few of the eighth graders have cell phones and no one would admit to liking girls. I can state as a fact that the vast majority of young teens have cell phones (mine does not and ceaselessly points out the injustice) and have LOTS of interest in the opposite sex, and are not afraid to let everyone know.

I would speculate that a legal thriller will have a more limited readership in the teen world than a fantasy novel, even so, I think kids could enjoy it once they give it a try.

3 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I did not like it one bit. It was unrealistic and boring. The writer didn’t understand what real 13 yr. olds were like and no 13 year old boy would like to go watch boring trials all day long. I didn’t enjoy it.

1 out of 5 stars

-the Teen

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

