Riordan’s “The Lost Hero” and “The Son of Neptune” – Spin Offs Can Be A Rewarding Hit Or A Total Flop

Book Review : The Lost Hero and The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Spoiler Alert!

Jason, Piper and Leo are on a school bus trip to the Grand Canyon. Jason is confused that Piper is his girlfriend because he has no memory of her. Soon this trio finds themselves in the middle of a battle with mythical creatures. Once they escape, these three demi-gods are brought to Camp Half-Blood and introduced to their true natures and the Greek pantheon.

Soon we discover that Percy Jackson is missing which is occupying Annabeth’s time. Through visions Jason discovers that Hera has been imprisoned and he will be part of a quest to free the goddess. Jason is hampered by the loss of his memory, Piper is plagued by the lack of attention she has received from her father and Leo is haunted by the death of his mother. There is an additional prophecy calling for seven heroes looming over Camp Half-Blood and the world.

Adult Point of View

Sometimes when an author does a spin off from the original series it is a total flop. This is not the case with The Lost Hero, it was rewarding and offers a new point of view of the same world as the original Percy Jackson series by introducing the nuances of Roman gods. I was disappointed not to have Percy as a character in the beginning of this new series, however, I feel he will be present later.

I particularly liked the character of Leo who reminds me of one of my friend’s sons who always has to have busy hands, such as, playing with wire. I have also known a young woman who was naturally, devastatingly beautiful as Piper is described as Athena’s daughter. This natural beauty I knew, has told me how her beauty was a curse at times and she would make no effort to emphasis her attributes because she didn’t want the added (negative) attention. Because of my friend, I found Piper’s reactions to be realistic. Jason seemed a little flat as a character, perhaps because he had lost his memory. I am willing to continue reading the new series, even though the basic plot is a repeat of The Lightning Thief,  because I found it to be fun in its own right.

3.5 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I really loved this book. I thought it was great. But since this is a blog I have to say the bad stuff about the book. No. 1 the names! Who names their kid Leo? Seriously. Piper I think is fine since there is so much about her voice being an influence. Authors stop using the name Jason!!! I’m done with the names Jason, Jack and Will. No. 2 Jason is great but he needs more depth. I feel like Leo and Piper are fine in this area, but Jason? NOooO. He is like a brick wall in comparison. I love his character, but I want to hear his story more. Other then those items I loved the book.

4 out of 5 stars

– the Daughter

There are more spoilers coming.

In The Son of Neptune Percy is running from immortals who have a death wish for the young demi-god. The big problem is that Percy has lost his memory. When an old woman asks for Percy to help her cross the river of cars with the promise that he might regain his memory and help his old friends though he would surely experience pain, he helps this crazy lady because he knows it is the right thing to do. Percy finds himself introduced by the goddess Hera and thrown into Camp Jupiter, a Roman camp which trains demi-gods. Finding himself befriended by the Fifth Cohort, who are outcasts, he creates new friendships with Frank and Hazel. At Mars instructions these three set out on a quest to hold back Gaia from rising and release Death from his imprisonment. The new Great Prophecy of seven is still coming.

Adult Point of View

It was great to have Percy back, along with his snarky remarks. He seems to have retained his personality through his partial memory loss. I enjoyed the irony of Frank being a son of Mars and his bumbling personality. I also thought Hazel was placed in an interesting ethical dilemna when she is faced with knowing she may die again when they release Death from his imprisonment. One of my favorite things in this novel was the differentiation of the Greek and Roman’s view point, the subtle differences within the god’s personalities and how that became translated into new human philosophies.

I believe I enjoyed The Son of Neptune even more that the first installment in this series. I am looking forward to the next installment as the Greek and Roman heroes need to combine their efforts in the old country. It is sure to be fast paced and exciting, Riordan is an author to watch.

3.5 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I thought this book was great. I wished it switched over to what Jason was doing from time to time just for an update, but it stayed centered on Percy. Once again, the names are killing me. Frank? Hazel? Oh my gosh, horrible choices. Hazel makes a little sense since it is from her time period, but Frank seems like the author just said ‘Okay I don’t want to find some awesome name.  How ’bout Frank?’ Rick Riordan is disappointing me with his name choices. The story line is fine, exciting and thrilling. I like the Roman camp even though the descriptions I found a little confusing to put into a mental image. Still it’s a book worth reading.

4 out of 5


– the Daughter

We are reading Mark of Athena and a review will soon be posted.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in children's books, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

