“Heist Society” – A Fantastical, Improbable Story In The Style of “Ocean’s Eleven”

Book Review : Heist Society by Ally Carter

Katarina Bishop has left the family business to attend an all girls school in America, which she conned her way into because they would never let her in if they knew the truth. The family business centers around art, both distribution and acquisition, in other words, they are art criminals. Sometimes you can leave the business, but the business won’t leave you, which is definitely the case for Kat. A dangerous man’s prized paintings have been stolen and he assumes Kat’s father is responsible. Kat is put in the position to have to return the stolen art or else her dad will suffer the consequences. With only two weeks, Kat has to pull off the biggest heist her family has ever accomplished, and she has to do is with a handful of teenagers. Impossible!

Adult Point of View

I have been pleasantly surprised. I had very low expectation for this novel and found that I enjoyed it even though it is highly improbable. Books are about escapism, sometimes, and Heist Society fills that niche. The guys are handsome and rich, and the girls are beautiful and smart traipsing across the world in style. It seems to be human nature to love a tale about robbery and glamorizing the rich, I am sure there is a deep psychological reason for this which I wouldn’t presume to know. Heist Society does remind me a bit of the movie Ocean’s Eleven, though less complicated.

I will say there are way to many female protagonists whose names get shortened to Kat in current young adult novels.

It was a fun light read and even appropriate for upper elementary students if you don’t mind the references to “boobs”(they boys said things like, “Kat when did you get boobs?” and “They look even bigger on the monitor.”) Kat’s cousin is also described as wearing too short of skirts and being curvy. There are a couple of kisses, or almost kisses and the language is clean. I would recommend Heist Society for Junior High School students.

3.25 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I thought this book was very confusing. I only got it after I read it and looked back on it, until then I had no idea what in the heck was happening. I suggest this book only for girls since it makes some references to girl stuff. Still, once I understood this book, it was a fun book to read.

2 out of 5 stars

– the Daughter

I read Uncommon Criminals and didn’t think it was confusing. I thought it was good.

3.5 out of 5 stars

– the Daughter

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in children's books, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

