“Max on Life, Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions” – A Christian’s Perspective on Life

Book Review : Max on Life, Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

by Max Lucado

Max Lucado’s book is written to answer questions that people have asked him in his ministry.

Lucado has a strong streak of common sense and his answers are based from the Bible. He shares specific scriptural references as well as allegorical stories drawing conclusions to answer modern questions and problems. The amazing thing is that the Bible does have answers that are poignant for us today.

Max on Life would be particularly helpful for an individual who does not have a strong personal faith or are new believers in Christ. It is a wonderful resource. My personal first source for answers would be to go directly to the scriptures and prayer, though Lucado will offer a different perspective and you must choose for yourself what you will believe.

Max on Life is divided into the following sections:

1) Hope: God, Grace, and “Why am I here?” – pages 1-36.
2) Hurt: Conflicts, Calamities, and “Why me?” – pages 37-74.
3) Help: Prayer, Scripture, and “Why church?” – pages 75-118.
4) Him/Her: Sex, Romance, and “Any chance of a second chance?” – pages 119-150.
5) Home: Diapers, Disagreements, and “Any hope for prodigals?” – pages 151-176.
6) Haves/Have-Nots: Work, Money, and “Where’s the lifeline?” – pages 177-196.
7) Hereafter: Cemeteries, Heaven, Hell, and “Who goes where?” – pages 197-230.

Though I don’t agree with everything, I recommend this book as a guide and hope you will find insight. In my Bible reading I have always used the King James Version, so when Lucado used the New Living Translation (NLT), New Century Version (NCV), Amplified Bible and other versions the scriptural references felt unfamiliar and did not resonate with me. Hopefully Lucado’s work will inspire each one of us to reach out to Christ to develop our own relationship with Him.

3.75 out of 5 stars

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed, Self-Help Books Reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Max on Life, Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions” – A Christian’s Perspective on Life

  1. Ann says:

    Max Lucado is an amazing writer. Our pastor often reads his stories during the sermon.
    Ann

Leave a Reply

