“Aurelie, A Faerie Tale” – Not All Faeries Are Nice

Book Review : Aurelie, A Faerie Tale by Heather Tomlinson

Spoiler Alert!

Aurelie is the princess, but she has three dear friends as a child. Garin who has been fostered in Aurelie’s kingdom and is from the merchant country of Skoe, Netta the daughter of a seamstress, and Loic, a river drac, from the world of the Fae seem like an unbreakable ring of friends for Aurelie. The clandestine friendship seems to end when unexpectedly the three humans no longer come to visit Loic, though the river drac doesn’t know his own father is the cause of their desertion.

Garin has returned to Skoe who is on the brink of war with Aurielie’s kingdom, Jocondagne. Netta has sequestered herself away in the country. Loic has been wounded by his friends departure and broods about the fickleness of humans. Aurelie needs her friends more than ever with the turmoil of being the princess heir.

Adult Point of View

Heather Tomlinson’s tale of Aurelie has a large cast of fae creatures. I had certainly never heard of a suck-breath, who preys on babies or the skeletal White Ladies or the dragon-like gargouille. Many fairy tales create a tone of innocence and fun around fairy-folk, but not in Aurelie. Many of the Fae are dangerous, and even fatal, for the unsuspecting though they can also be beautiful.

I did not expect the darker tone in this novel though I still enjoyed it for its descriptions. Because it is written for a younger audience the storyline is fairly simplistic and there are moments when the action moves forward in a halting way leaving me with a feeling that I skipped a sentence. At one point, Aurelie is asked if she is going to take Loic on as a lover, which seemed like a mature sentiment for the young audience. In the first chapter Netta is maliciously blinded with magic, I was hoping her sight would fully be restored by the end though magic doesn’t always work that way.

The intended readership is probably about 4th grade, I am sure most children will gloss over the sexual reference to a lover and will enjoy the tale.

2.75 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I didn’t give it to my daughter because I didn’t feel she would be interested in this novel because she is 14 years old.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in children's books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

