“Beyonders, Seeds of Rebellion” – Have Quest Sagas Been Overdone?

Book Review : Beyonders, Seeds of Rebellion by Brandon Mull

Spoiler Alert!

Jason Walker is back home, but he holds a secret that could save lives back on Lyrian. Jason finds a way to return even though he knows his life will be in danger from the usurper Maldor.

Rachel continues to hide with Drake and discovers that she has an uncanny ability to use the Edomic, a pure language with power.

When Galloran is told that the secret word to destroy Maldor was a ruse used my the tyrant to deflect his enemies, he immediately sets out to unite the remaining free people to try to rescue Lyrian. Jason accompanies Galloran and is rejoined by Rachel and others in this nobel quest. Unfortunately the seedmen remain unconvinced that opposition to Maldor is in their best interest resulting in a small force seeking out the last oracle to divine their chances for success.

Adult Point of View

I rarely love middle books in a series because they feel like a set up for the grand finale. With that said, I find the land of Lyrian to be very creative, with lots of descriptions of the topography and the unique beings that inhabit this weirdly wonderful world. I would prefer to see the pacing of the story clip along a bit faster, particularly for a children’s series. I am also not fond of zombies! The violence seems about the same in the Seeds of Rebellion as A World Without Heroes, however, the grossness of zombies (some of which maintain vestiges of human thought) was too much for me to consider allowing my 9 year old to read this series. There were other points when I was confused on character identification, and I probably should have reread the first book in the series prior to reading the second. Finally, I can’t imagine that we will ever be done with quests in children’s books because they are on their own quest with the goal to grow up. I find that I am tired of quests, finding them to be rather predictable and I am hoping that Mull will find a new twist in the third novel. Because of the violence I would prefer to see kids in 5th grade and above reading this series.

3 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in children's books, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

