“Legend” – A New Voice In the Young Adult Dystopian Genre

Book Review : Legend by Marie Lu

Spoiler Alert!

The Republic is at war with its neighbors, the Colonies. Within the Republic, the government dictates each person’s life which is determined by their score at the Trial. June, is the first to ever receive a perfect score. Even though she is only fifteen, the military enlists her help to capture the most wanted criminal and the killer of her brother.

Day is not in the Republic’s data base though he was born in the slums of the Lake Sector. Day scavenges to find food and money to help his family, and provokes the government.

As June and Day’s paths cross their beliefs and self-evident truths are challenged. However, the truth endangers their lives.

Adult Point of View

Marie Lu is an author that I will watch and look forward to seeing her grow as a writer. In Legend, her first published novel, her writing is interesting, the ideas fun to explore and the characters are engaging. I didn’t feel like there were huge plot twists, but everything made sense in the world she had created and there were not raw, loose ends. One of my favorite moments was when we learned that Day’s necklace held a coin minted prior to the United States splitting up into the rivalries of the Republic and the Colonies. I am interested to find out more about the Colonies in the next novel. I am wondering if they are corrupt through apathy and their apparent wealth.

Even though there have been so many dystopian novels recently Legend is unique and is not a love triangle (hooray!). The most similar novel to Legend would be Divergent written by Veronica Roth. Fans of Matched by Ally Conde and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins should also enjoy Legend.

3 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I liked the character Day because he was a punk. I didn’t like June’s character because she was too prissy. I thought the plot was too simple, it needed to be more complicated. It didn’t really go anywhere. Day was a fugitive and then he got caught. End of story.

I think other people will like the book.

2.75 out of 5 stars

– the Teen, who actually decided to read this book. HOORAY!

I would recommend you try books by Cinda Williams Chima, like the Seven Realms series and try Cast of Stones, A The Staff and the Sword series by Patrick W. Carr.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Legend” – A New Voice In the Young Adult Dystopian Genre

  1. Brittany says:

    I tried to skip through spoilers! I’m really interested in reading this so a little disappointed that it only received 2.75/3 stars – But I’ve actually seen that around. I think I still might try it anyway. Do you think it’s worth my time to read?

    • I rated it higher than my daughter and think you should give it a try, it was worth my time to read. I am a very tough critic and 3 stars means that I really liked the book and recommend it. When I rate a book with 4 stars it means that I loved a book and felt like it changed my perspective or gave me a lot to think about, and 5 stars I reserve for the books that I am so passionate about that I couldn’t live without having read them. I hope that helps in your decision. Please let me know what you think if you decide to read “Legend”. I will definitely read more by this author. I will look forward to hearing from you again.

      • Brittany says:

        Oh okay, that is great to know! I’d defintely still like to try it so I’m glad you still recommend it. Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

