“The Great Cake Mystery: Precious Ramotswe’s Very First Case”

Book Review : The Great Cake Mystery, Precious Ramotswe’s Very First Case                                                             by Alexander McCall Smith
Spoiler Alert!

Have you ever thought it would be  nice to be a detective? Precious is one of the nicest girls in all of Botswana, and becomes a detective. She got her first case early in her life when she was at school. One day another girl named Tapiwa had brought a piece of cake to school to eat later. When she went to go get it all that was left were a few crumbs. The teachers think Tapiwa must have forgotten that she had eaten her cake earlier. Precious is quite sure that Tapiwa is not the sort of person to eat cake and then forget about it. There must be a thief in the school. Pretty soon other people’s tasty treats are disappearing too. Who would take other people’s things? Are the students on the right trail? How will Precious catch the thief?

Adult Point of View

I found The Great Cake Mystery to be delightful because of the relationship that Precious has with her father and her friends. I loved the woodcut illustrations! I also loved it because I have read the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series and The Great Cake Mystery is a prequel for the beloved tales of Botswana.

I am interested to know who the intended audience would be for this short chapter book. I started to read this short book out loud to my two young sons. The nine year old was bored and wandered out of the room. The six year old was interested to find out who would steal a cake, however, he also lost interest and we didn’t finish reading it together. I am left wondering if girls might find this little novel more intriguing. Because of the reading level I am listing it as a children’s book, but I actually think adults will enjoy reading it the most.

4 out of 5 stars

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in children's books, grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

