“A Conspiracy of Friends” – A Slice of Life

Book Review : A Conspiracy of Friends by Alexander McCall Smith

Spoiler Alert!

The people of Corduroy Mansion, and surrounding environs, come and go with their lives intersecting as they pass one another. Berthea continues to work on her unauthorized biography of her son, Oedipus Snark – the only loathsome Liberal Democrat in all of England. In fact, Berthea secretly wishes to discover that her son was mistakenly switched at birth. William French has a myriad of problems, will Eddie ever leave home, what has become of his beloved Pimlico, Freddie de la Hay, and what is he do to about this new love entanglement? Caroline Jarvis is trying to figure out what she truly wants out of love and friendship. Rupert Porter and Barbara Ragg have a new row involving the superior flat, publishing the Yeti’s story and possibly the entire business.

Adult Point of View

By the third book in this series the characters are familiar and the mere mention of their name brings a smile to my face as they squabble around trying to make sense of their unpredictable lives. I still loathe Eddie, who really has been a waste of space, but I wonder if he might actually do something in the future. Oedipus Snark, who has always lived up to his name, catches a twist of fate that leaves me wondering if I will miss how truly awful he has always been. I am sad for Caroline that she really might have lost her best friend, James, even if it is an exchange for love. I also like seeing Barbara come into a better understanding of herself and wanting to do what is right.

Though completely implausible I enjoyed the installment of the Yeti, in particular in this  quote.

“Yeti very pleased,” said the yeti.
He thought: It’s quite a strain leaving out auxiliary verbs, but that’s apparently what she wants; strange people, the English. Very strange. (p. 258)

The Corduroy Mansions series is perfect to read when you need a snicker and sometimes a full on laugh. Nothing is resolved, nothing is complete, it just goes on without an end in sight; just like a slice of real life.

3.75 out of 5 stars

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

