“Reached” – Does the “Matched” Series Come to a Satisfactory Conclusion?

Book Review : Reached by Ally Condie

Spoiler Alert!

Cassia and Ky have found the Rising, but they have each been assigned different roles and are separated again. Cassia has been sent back into the Society to continue sorting waiting for a unique sort that the Rising will send to her. Ky has been trained to fly planes and awaits the day when the Pilot will call for the Rising to reveal itself to Society. Xander is now trained as a physic and is also part of the Rising.

The rebellion seems to run smoothly as the Rising moves against Society until the plague mutates and there is no sure. Cassia, Ky and Xander all fall under suspicion of treason and have to find a way to redeem themselves, and save the remains of all they know.

Adult Point of View

I have been considering what I actually thought of Reached for several days prior to writing this review. I didn’t love it, but I liked it more than Crossed. The real problem is that I loved Matched so much that the other books in this series have not lived up to the first. Reached is filled with poetry and esoteric values that I enjoyed. The sentence structure is simple and clean which I believe can be justified in that Society has limited independent thinking through a narrow scope of reference (like the 100 songs, 100 paintings, 100 science lessons, ect.). I like Cassia as a character, but I don’t feel like she has a lot of growth in this book. Xander actually changes and develops the most as he comes to understand his own moral compass that he must work for a cure to the mutated plague even if it means he cannot pursue Cassia.

I was bothered that the point of view flipped between the three main characters and had to periodically verify which character was speaking. The climax of Reached hits quickly when the Rising is successful in taking over the Society, and then the rest of the book centers on solving the mutated illness. I was not very happy when I read that there was a rampant disease taking over because I was instantly reminded of The Maze Runner series. When it is revealed that the Society was aware of the Rising, and embraced the revolution to remain in power as the governing force, I was very discouraged feeling as though everything leading up to the Rising was futile. Somehow this line of reasoning reminded me of the Foundation series by Asimov. Finally, I was glad that questions were answered, but as the same time I felt like everything was tied up a little too neatly. Examples would include, Cassia had changed the pool for her Match adding Ky under the direction of the Rising, that Nea Lei was Laney, whose love had died and is now the new love interest for Xander, Ky’s cousin had not died but had left for the Otherlands and that Cassia’s great grandmother had been the Pilot. I was satisfied that the ending did not resolve the final vote on who would be the new ruling “president” to reform their civilization.

My final conclusion is that Reached did not bring about a satisfactory conclusion for the Matched series because the trilogy because the evolution was illogical and seemed disconnected. I liked it, I just didn’t love it.

3.5 out of 5 stars

– the Mother

The Teen is reading this novel and will add in her perspective when she has the chance. Check back for her addition.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Reached” – Does the “Matched” Series Come to a Satisfactory Conclusion?

  1. Brittany says:

    I think I’m going to pick this one up next. I have the copy sitting on my shelf just waiting for me! I’m really hoping I’ll like it better than Crossed, but I’m very nervous to read it, especially with THREE POVs. I feel like that would get confusing as well.

    • Others I have talked to felt like the three POVs was confusing. Thankfully each chapter is titled with the character’s name to help out.

      I should have noted this is one of the few series where the love triangle is not overly dramatic, which is a positive.

      I can hardly wait to see what you think!

Leave a Reply

