“The Rise of Nine” – Are Books Written To Be Made Into Movies?

The+Rise+of+NineUS

Book Review : The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore (or James Frey)

Spoiler Alert!

Until the day I met John Smith, Number Four, I’d been on the run alone, hiding and fighting to stay alive.

Together, we are much more powerful. But it could only last so long before we had to separate to find the others. . . .

I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found even more, including a tenth member of the Garde who escaped from Lorien alive. Ella is younger than the rest of us, but just as brave. Now we’re looking for the others–including John.

But so are they.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They caught me in New York–but I escaped.
I am Number Six.
They want to finish what they started.
But they’ll have to fight us first. (synopsis courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I have not loved this series, but it has a broad appeal. Points in its favor include, fast paced, good vs evil, government conspiracy, a bit of romance, interesting locations and super-powers. The points that lose my interest include, the POV – it flips constantly with who is telling the story with no indicator of the speaker other than context, the numbers used for peoples’ names are lack luster and I had no firm attachments to the characters – possibly there are too many characters. Finally, I want a novel to read like a book with details that are missing from a movie script, and The Rise of Nine reads like a movie script more than a book. I feel like these books were written with the intent of being made into movies disregarding the necessity of good writing for both a book and a movie. The Rise of Nine is also peppered with cursing, as I recall mostly by Nine, as a part of distinguishing his character.

A Guide to the Numbers and Names (in case you have forgotten who is who like I did):

Nine – guy that John got out of Mog’s prison when Sam got left behind, he’s very cocky
Four = John Smith, in love with Sarah Hart who is human and possibly betrayed him
Six =  She is independent, tough and had gone to Spain to collect more of the Garde
Seven= Marina, grew up in an orphanage and has healing powers and night vision
Eight = found in India has telekinesis, shape-shifting and teleporting powers
Five = seen in a prophetic painting battling Mogs from a tree
Ten = Ella, they discover another ship escaped Lorien carrying an infant and she is the tenth member of the Garde. She has the ability to change her age and has mental telepathy, she feels inferior. The Mogs do not know she exists as a part of the Garde.

3 out of 5 stars

3 star

– the Mother

The teen seems to have lost interest in this series and has not read this one.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

