“Tiger’s Destiny” – An Exciting Conclusion and No More Whining From Kelsey

tiger's destinyBook Review: Tiger’s Destiny by Colleen Houck

Spoiler Alert!

With three of the goddess Durga’s quests behind them, only one prophecy now stands in the way of Kelsey, Ren, and Kishan breaking the tiger’s curse. But the trio’s greatest challenge awaits them: A life-endangering pursuit in search of Durga’s final gift, the Rope of Fire, on the Andaman Islands in the Bay of Bengal.  It’s a race against time–and the evil sorcerer Lokesh–in this eagerly anticipated fourth volume in the bestselling Tiger’s Curse series, which pits good against evil, tests the bonds of love and loyalty, and finally reveals the tigers’ true destinies once and for all. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I am so happy I don’t have to read anymore about Kelsey. I found her to be one of the cruelest women in these modern romance novels because she was stringing along both Ren and Kishan. Her other major annoying faults were being whiny and overly insecure. Ren and Kishan’s characters did not stay true to their original personalities which I found made me feel more disconnected to them.

You might be asking why I even bothered to read this final book. It’s redeeming quality was the world mythology that was incorporated and the quest/adventure sections are fun. I couldn’t believe that Houck incorporated a new version of vampires in the adventure, and I would have preferred something else. The “birth” of Durga becoming a goddess was a good explanation of the many versions of her personality and reasonable to imagine this is how ancient people may have created some of their deity from real heroes.

If you have loved the series you will love the final installment and cheer for the nicely tied up package. I would try reading something else by this author, but I hope she can improve her writing with the characters and have a better plot. Her strength was actually in creating a vivid adventure.

3 out of 5 stars

I would give it more stars if Kelsey didn’t annoy me so terribly.

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I just knew she was going to go back to Ren. Too predictable!

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

