“Alloy of Law” – Does the Fantasy/Science Fiction Genre Blend With the Old West?

Book Review : Alloy of Law
By Brandon Sanderson

Spoiler Alert!

Picture 32Three hundred years after the events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity, with railroads to supplement the canals, electric lighting in the streets and the homes of the wealthy, and the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for the clouds.

Kelsier, Vin, Elend, Sazed, Spook, and the rest are now part of history—or religion. Yet even as science and technology are reaching new heights, the old magics of Allomancy and Feruchemy continue to play a role in this reborn world. Out in the frontier lands known as the Roughs, they are crucial tools for the brave men and women attempting to establish order and justice.

One such is Waxillium Ladrian, a rare Twinborn, who can Push on metals with his Allomancy and use Feruchemy to become lighter or heavier at will. After twenty years in the Roughs, Wax has been forced by family tragedy to return to the metropolis of Elendel. Now he must reluctantly put away his guns and assume the duties and dignity incumbent upon the head of a noble house. Or so he thinks, until he learns the hard way that the mansions and elegant tree-lined streets of the city can be even more dangerous than the dusty plains of the Roughs. (Courtesy of goodread.com)

Adult Point of View

Some authors that have changed expectations in writing include Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, J.R.R. Tolkein, and I believe Brandon Sanderson has joined their ranks. I love the well thought out world building, characters and creativity inherent to Sanderson’s writing. Alloy of Law is a great addition to the world of fiction and I loved how it worked seamlessly with the setting in the lawless old West.

I have not yet read the Mistborn series, and would think that some areas of religion or use of the allomancy would have been more clear if I had the base of knowledge from the first trilogy. Even so, I greatly enjoyed Alloy of Law on its own and it is not completely necessary to have read the previous books.

One of my favorite relationships in the book was between Wax and Wayne. These men worked with each using humor and jibes, somewhat like brothers might, but they actually had a deep concern and respect for each other, also like brothers. I also enjoyed Marasi because she wasn’t brazenly tough or brave, but rather was bookish and just using the skills she had the best ways she could.

There are quite a few deaths, but the details were not overly grisly and it is so fun that many older teens will also enjoy this book in addition to adults.

4.5 out of 5 stars (though a 5+ stars for pure enjoyment)
4 1:2 star

– the Mother

ps- I have handed it off to my daughter, but she has not read it yet. I will update this post when she completes it.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in All Time Favorites, grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

