“The House of Hades” – Greek and Roman Mythology Has A Renewed Interest

Book Review: The House of Hades
By Rick Riordan

Spoiler Alert!
Screen shot 2014-06-09 at 1.23.34 PMAt the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?

They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I have loved how accessible Riordan has made the Greek myths for kids. I have not loved The Heros of Olympus as much because there are double the characters once the Greeks get involved with the Romans. I have also never felt as connected to Jason, Hazel, Frank and Reyna as much as Percy and Annabeth. The pacing of the novel is frantic, which is actually a good thing for young male readers. in particular. In my experience, pre-teen and teen boys lose interest in reading and need a fast pace. Anytime the reader picks up the book he is in for an exciting, death-defying, monster chomping, convoluted resolution, by the skin of their teeth and witty remarks. One thing to note, Riordan had used a great amount of tact referring to how all the gods children were created through the series and hasn’t made it into a salacious novel. In this installment, Zephyr, one of the winds, tells Jason and Nico that he had fallen in love with Hyacinthus, a dude. Zephyr asks Jason if he is shocked. Later, Nico is put into a position by Cupid where he has to confess that he has had a crush on Percy. It seems evident that the situation with Nico will need to be resolved since he is a secondary character and will be in the next novel. With the fast pace these kinds of details easily get lost in the novel, but it is worth noting for parents who are concerned. I prefer novels read by this demographic to be squeaky clean.

It wasn’t my favorite in the series. I liked it, but I think I am tired of the series at this point.

3 out of 5 stars
3 star

– the Mother

Pre-Teen Review

I loved it because it kept the excitement going. I also liked how each person had their own chapters. I like Percy the most.

5 out of 5 stars
5 star

– the Son (11 years old)

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

