“Dangerous” – Is It Cliche´ Or Trailblazing?

Book Review : Dangerous 
By Shannon Hale

Spoiler Alert!

Screen shot 2014-07-09 at 10.00.55 PM    Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There’s no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

(Courtesy of goodread.com)

 

 

 

 

 

Adult Point of View

I was excited to read Shannon Hale’s newest book and was ultimately disappointed.

I liked how the main character, Maisie, was missing an arm, and it wasn’t the primary focus in the novel. I liked that she seemed like a real girl, with strengths and flaws. I thought it was a fun premise that the kids connected into an alien technology.

Once the romance started my interest in Dangerous dwindled. When Maisie’s boyfriend reached for a condom I was appalled. Even though Maisie turned him down, this did not seem appropriate for a Middle School novel. I would have liked to see the romance downplayed and Maisie discovering and trusting her own abilities played up. Once again, the nice guy loses and the jerk is the irresistible “bad boy”. I was hoping for something better than a cliche´romance.

Finally, I wouldn’t recommend this book, though I have certainly read worse.

2 out of 5 stars
2 star

– the Mother

Teen Point of View

I couldn’t believe the things she put in this book. This is for young teens! Really?

No Stars

– the Daughter

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

