“The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café” – But, Is It The Kind of Man You Really Want At The Cafe?

Book Review: The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café
A No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Novel
By Alexader McCall Smith

Spoiler Alert!

Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 12.25.04 PM

Summary

In this delightful fifteenth installment, Mma Ramotswe has her hands full both at home and in the office. To add to her current challenges, her devoted partner, Grace Makutsi, has decided to branch out on her own and open The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Cafe. But even “Miss 97 Per Cent” can’t quite meet all the demands of running a business—not to mention those that a lightning strike makes on her building. Eventually, she’ll have to accept all the help she can get—even if it comes from a completely unexpected source.

(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I have thoroughly enjoyed the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. I can’t believe this is the fifteenth! I have read each one several times. I love how Smith captures the differences in how men and women think. I love the titles in the series!

In this new installment, The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Cafe, I particularly liked seeing the personal growth of Grace Makutsi. This is a very logical development since motherhood does change a woman’s perspective and outlook to the world. I also loved seeing the fierce loyalty that Charlie develops for Precious Ramotswe. I did miss not having J.L.B. Matekoni in the book as much because he offers a nice counterpoint to Mma Ramotswe’s perspective.

As a slight criticism, I did think the solution to the primary case was obvious. This flaw does not bother me because my main objective in reading the book is to enjoy the life philosophy, rather than solving a mystery.  Mma Ramotswe always solves her cases in a round about way, though logically as based on the advice from the revered Mr Clovis AndersenI felt completely satisfied, as did the participants in Gabarone.

Now if I could only convince my uncle, who lives in England, that it is terribly important to send me the next novel in the series as soon as it is published in the UK – and preferably overnight – then all would be well. Until then only my dreams will be in Africa.

5 out of 5 stars
5 star

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in All Time Favorites, grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

