“Firefight” – Does Sanderson Overcome The Typical Middle Book Slump?

Book Review : Firefight, The Reckoners
By Brandon Sanderson

Spoiler Alert!

Screen shot 2015-02-11 at 11.16.22 AMSummary:

They told David it was impossible–that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart–invincible, immortal, unconquerable–is dead. And he died by David’s hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there’s no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David’s willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic–Firefight. And he’s willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.
(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

My library has these books in the YA section, but I think they will be enjoyed by adults even more. The funny things could easily get lost on the young. They have a lot of violence and action, but there are no hot and heavy kissing scenes.

David is faced with a problem; he doesn’t really feel fulfilled anymore now that he met his goal of killing Steelheart. Even though he continues to kill Epics, he begins to have questions of the morality of his purpose. With that unease he heads off to Babylon Restored hoping to connect with Megan, fulfill his role as a Reckoner and change the course of his own life.

Sanderson continues to a logical step in Firefight rather than a repeat of Steelheart. The bad metaphors continue; which he must have had so much fun writing. My personal favorite is when David compares Megan to a potato, because if you’re walking through a minefield and step on a squishy potato you are so relieved it wasn’t a mine than exploded.  Perhaps it doesn’t make much sense out of context, but it really doesn’t make a whole lot of sense in context either. There were points when I really did laugh out loud which is a rare joy when reading.

I want to avoid giving away the big spoilers. It will have to be sufficient to say that once again Sanderson manages to think of a plot twist or two that I never would have even imagined. At the end I felt caught up in the fast paced action and couldn’t believe it had ended. Even so, there are some conclusions along with the loose ends. I do feel more satisfied when I at least get some answers. The bad news is that the next book isn’t coming out anytime too soon. The good news, knowing Sanderson, is it will probably be within a year or so.

Firefight absolutely breaks the typical middle book slump! Yes, it does set up for the grand finale, but still packs it’s own storyline with a crises that gets resolved. I continue to love the characters. I can hardly wait for the next book.

4 out of 5 stars (I really want to give it 5 stars, but by my own scale it doesn’t really have literary merit, it’s just a fantastic read!)
4 star

– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

