“The Thief” – This One Won A Newberry Honor Award For A Good Reason!

Book Review: The Thief
By Megan Whalen Turner

Spoiler Alert!

448873

Summary

” I can steal anything.”

After Gen’s bragging lands him in the king’s prison, the chances of escape look slim.

The king’s scholar, the magus, believes he knows the site of an ancient treasure. To attain it for his king, he needs a skillful thief, and he selects Gen from the king’s prison. The magus is interested only in the thief’s abilities.

What Gen is interested in is anyone’s guess. Their journey toward the treasure is both dangerous and difficult, lightened only imperceptibly by the tales they tell of the old gods and goddesses.

Adult Point of View

Megan Whalen Turner is rather brilliant in her book The Thief. Gen, the thief, is a charming rapscallion, with a hidden past. The other characters Pol, the magus, and Sophos and Ambiades, described as Useless the Younger and Useless the Elder, are each unique and interesting in their own right.

I enjoyed Turner’s world building. Everything flowed and made sense. I liked how there is an official position of the Queen’s Thief in one country, how the mythology worked into the plot and the logical military threats from the three main countries joined together. I even liked the details how the ruler of the country became known as the name of the country. As an example, the Queen of Eddis is also known as Eddis. I liked the role of the gods, and that Turner had manipulated the pantheon of gods to build her story. It felt as if I already knew them, but had forgotten the details from Greek mythology. If I could change one thing, it would be to include even more mythological stories. I also loved how Gen was so much more than I originally realized and the extent of his planning.

Clever men and women, the gods, an impossible task and swords, who could ask for anything more?

4 out of 5 stars
4 star

– Michelle

If you liked this one try A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr.

Teen Point of View

I loved Gen!

4 out of 5 stars
4 star

– the daughter

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

