“A Draw Of Kings” – We Need More Books From Great Authors!

Book Review: A Draw of Kings By Patrick W. Carr

Spoiler Alert!

18008074Summary      Their journey to Merakh should have made Errol and his companions heroes of the realm. Instead, much is changed on their return. In the wake of the king’s death, Duke Weir is ruling the country–and his intentions are to marry Adora to bring an heir. With Errol and the others imprisoned and the identity of the rightful heir to the throne still hidden in secrecy, Illustra is on the verge of civil war–and at growing risk from the armies of Merakh and Morgol. A dangerous mission to free Errol succeeds, but the dangers facing the kingdom are mounting with every passing moment. The barrier has fallen, ferals are swarming toward the land, and their enemies draw near. Will the revelation of Illustra’s next true king come in time or will all be lost? (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I have felt very satisfied with this entire series. The pivotal question through A Draw of Kings is who will be the king and who will be the one sacrificed. Both Liam and Errol believe they will need to sacrifice their lives for the good of the kingdom and both are willing to commit their lives.

I love the characters. Errol could have morose because of his experiences, but instead he develops over time into a thoughtful man who is concerned for others. Liam could have been arrogant, but instead was humble. At one point it was described that men would be proud to die fighting at Liam’s side because he was respected as a leader, but they would die at Errol’s side because of their love for him. It has also been said that Errol was more human, he didn’t just represent a man, but all of mankind. Pater Martin continued to be a favorite character because of his growth and epiphanies, he is never stuffy and has a certain charm. It is very interesting how the point of view transforms through the series. By the last book there are 3 POV, however, I was fine with the change and never became confused.

The plot is fast paced and logical. Each character’s action within the plot is consistent with their motivation. When a plot is logical it is much more enjoyable for me because I am not having to convince myself to believe something completely impossible. There are also twists in the plot that keep my interest piqued. There are big twists at the end, but there are surprises through the entire series. (I just can’t say more because I really don’t want to spoil the big stuff – you will just have to read it!) I read the ending twice just to make sure I wasn’t missing anything important.

I still don’t understand why The Staff and The Sword series is marketed as Christian fantasy because anyone who likes fantasy will love this series. Perhaps it could be marketed in both areas because I would love to see Patrick Carr with a mainstream following. We need more great authors!

This is one of my all time favorite series! If you have ever read Brandon Sanderson, Tolkien, Ursala K. LeGuin, Cinda Williams Chima or Terry Brooks I predict you would love Patrick Carr too.

4.5 out of 5 stars
4 1:2 star

  • Michelle

 

 

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in All Time Favorites, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

