“Starcross” – Victorian Steampunk Space Travel and More

Book Review: Starcross, A Stirring Adventure of Spies, Time Travel and Curious Hats
Larklight #2

By Philip Reeve
Decorated Throughout by David Wyatt

Spoiler Alert!

1369202Summary
     Art, Myrtle and their mother accept the kind invitation of a holiday to an up-and-coming asteroid resort. But they set out with visions of rest and relaxation only to be sucked into a dastardly plot involving spies, time travel, and mind-altering clothing! Before their adventures are out, they’ll sail an aether-ship amid asteroid-strewn seas, dodge demonic puppets, and learn wisdom from an unlikely ally: the Moobs! With faster-than-light plot twists and enough tongue-in-cheek vim and vigor to keep a galaxy in laughter, this dynamic sequel to Larklight is a tour de force of the most intergalactic kind. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

 

Adult Point of View

It’s been quite awhile since I read Larklight so it was a little confusing jumping straight into Starcross. In my defense Philip Reeve and David Wyatt have so much going on in this series I think anyone would be a bit discombobulated.

If I used one word to describe Starcross it would be ‘cheeky’. Nothing can be taken too seriously. It is preposterous, manic, ludicrous, imaginative, silly, impossible, with words peppering the page as if shot from a blunderbuss. In other words, I quite liked it.

I don’t think kids would understand everything going on because of obscure historical references and the complexity of the tale. However, many books can be read with layers of understanding. Kids will enjoy the adventure and feel satisfied.

The illustrations by David Wyatt are integral to the story and I enjoy his work. It’s obvious that the author and illustrator and working closely together to create this fun series.

I would recommend this book for both boys and girls from about age 10 and up.

3.5 out of 5 stars
3-half-star-hotel

  • Michelle
  • If you enjoyed this series you might try another steampunk novel, the The Lady of Devices by Shelley Adina written for a slightly older audience available as an ebook.
  • Another favorite steampunk novel was Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld.
About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

