Preda’s Voice – How Have E-Books Changed Our Reading Habits?

Book Review : Preda’s Voice
Guardians of Vaka
By Carolyn Gross

Spoiler Alert!

25862681

Summary

Silence is only golden when it’s a reprieve from noise; when it’s forced on you by your father, who tells you your voice drove your mother insane, it quickly becomes oppressive.

Preda Torrance is nearly eighteen, and her speechless existence has finally taken its toll. Every time someone becomes suspicious of her strange behavior, her dad packs up and moves them somewhere else—which only compounds Preda’s isolation even further. Her only companion? A one-eared alley cat named Fiver.

One morning, a man breaks into the Torrance house—and only Fiver and a screaming Preda escape with their lives. Once again convinced that her voice can bring only destruction, the teen is surprised when Detective Fox seems to think she has a gift. Strangely aware of her history, the detective tells Preda that he knows her true origins…and that there is a community of people on the verge of war who desperately need her help.

The first book in an empowering coming-of-age fantasy series, Preda’s Voice brilliantly blends young love with epic adventure while candidly recounting the inward journey of a teenage girl struggling to find her place in the world. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I was off on a trip and filled my Kindle up with lots of free books. Some I erased within a couple of pages because they were so awful. That is the beauty of e-books, I feel no great commitment to finish them because I’m not even really holding a book. Preda’s Voice was among the many books I had downloaded last summer. Each book in the series is about 200 pages, which is considerably shorter than many books being printed. Shorter books are very approachable and so, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it’s just an observation. E-books have a broad availability of authors who haven’t published, and gives readers the chance to discover books that might never have been available to the public. I enjoyed Preda’s Voice enough that I invested the $1.99 for the second book in the series and will read the third too.

The premise of Preda’s Voice is that the main character, Preda, has had to suppress her voice because it is a weapon, though others say she has a gift. Preda is a good balance of the unsure of herself adolescent and a survivor. She is engaging, a natural leader and a humanitarian. As she grows into her position of leadership the reader knows her doubts, but she has the moxie to stand by her choices even under scrutiny. Hopefully it isn’t too big of a spoiler to say that Preda is an alien and has been sequestered on earth for her protection. As she returns to her homeland the opposition to her rule increases.

The love interest is obvious, as well as some of the other plot devices. Even though the plotting feels familiar, Preda’s Voice is a really fun read when you want a light summer read. I would have liked an explanation for some of the science, such as, why is the sky lavender? I really couldn’t picture the new planet very well. I felt like some details were added just to try to make it more unusual.

I’m not sure when I’ll get around to review Soundless Rising. For a short review, it introduces new political factions, environmental issues and a stalker. As is typical for me, I didn’t like the second book as much as the first. It will be interesting to see how everything gets resolved in the third book, End Bringer. Carolyn Gross will be worth watching as an author.

3 out of 5 stars
3 star

  • the Mother

If you like girl-power books three of my favorites are Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey, The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley and The Raven Ring by Patricia C. Wrede. I noticed I haven’t reviewed all of these, but they would be well worth your time.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

