The Girl Who Believed In Fairy Tales – Do We Have Modern Fairy Tales?

Book Review : The Girl Who Believed in Fairy Tales
three short stories
By Heidi Garrett

e-book

Spoiler Alert!

22706673

Summary

Heather Baker believes in fairy tales, and she turns to their timeless wisdom whenever life gets difficult. Again and again, the playfulness, symbolism, and deeper meaning in fairy tales have filled Heather with hope, nurtured her spirit, and fired her imagination. Sometimes touching, and sometimes humorous, these loosely biographical tales capture three transformative experiences in her life.

—Heather takes a poignant journey through her past and awakens to a sense life’s magic in “The Girl Who Watched for Elves”
—She grapples with desire and creates a life imbued with meaning in “The Girl Who Dreamed of Red Shoes”
—And she follows her heart until she finds her place in the world in “The Girl Who Couldn’t Sing”
(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I have always loved fairy tales. What is their hidden message? Why were they told? How were they created? I like the idea of modern fairy tales, the question is what constitutes a fairy tale now? Is there magic or science? Is there a moral? Are there archetypical figures?

In The Girl Who Believed in Fairy Tales Heather Baker chooses to relate her life to fairy tales. Sometimes the tale gives her hope and courage. I had a hard time connecting the fairy tales in the stories to her real life.

I like the premise of Garrett’s book, but I feel like I need to relate the main character more deeply and I need more elements from the fairy tales in each story. There was the archetypical evil step mother in the first story. Red, being a symbol for passion and danger is definitely present with the shoes in the second story. I would have liked to see more done with the potential symbol of the color red. In the last story I thought it a bit odd that she would pursue a dream so relentlessly when she had no talent, though it was certainly plucky. I didn’t resound with the stories, but to be fair, I was under the weather while reading them. I would like to see where Garrett goes next in her writing, I believe she has great potential.

A good friend told me every woman should own a pair of red shoes.

3 out of 5 stars

3 star

  • the Mother

If you liked this one you might want to read some books like Beauty and Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley.I would also recommend Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, Searching For Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede and The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

