Hood – A Welsh Robin Hood?

Book Review : Hood
King Raven
By Stephen R. Lawhead

e-book

Spoiler Alert!

73931

Summary

Robin Hood

The Legend Begins Anew

For centuries, the legend of Robin Hood and his band of thieves has captivated the imagination. Now the familiar tale takes on new life, fresh meaning, and an unexpected setting.

Steeped in Celtic mythology and the political intrigue of medieval Britain, Stephen R. Lawhead’s latest work conjures up an ancient past and holds a mirror to contemporary realities. Prepare yourself for an epic tale that dares to shatter everything you thought you knew about Robin Hood. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

Hood is the beginning of a saga style series. In the first installment for the series Bran ap Brychan, Prince of Elfael, finds his purpose to fight for his homeland and his people covertly.

Bran has been a bit of a rascal growing up and is thrown into disarray as his father is killed. He is ready to runaway to his kinsman and allow the invaders to keep Elfael. A wise old woman, helps Bran heal from his injuries and find himself. Bran begins guerilla tactics to war against the new establishment.

The pace is very slow, some would say majestic or sweeping, but I will stick with ploddingly slow. I stopped reading for awhile and wasn’t even sure I would pick it up again. However, I pushed through and finished. Hooray for me! It is very boring to have the main character sick for chapter after chapter.

Lawhead has done a lot of research which makes the setting feel realistic. Hood was a little violent, free of sex, though there is sexual innuendo, and had clean language. It’s not a terrible book, it just didn’t catch me. I liked the setting in Wales, which seemed like a fresh perspective. Lawhead’s supplemental material at the back about the mythology of Robin Hood was the most interesting part for me.

3 out of 5 stars
3 star

  • the Mother

If you liked this one try The Way of Kings series by Brandon Sanderson for another saga style book.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

