Bound By A Dragon – A Romance Wrapped In Fantasy

Book Review : Bound By A Dragon
The Dragon Archives
By Linda K. Hopkins

e-book

Spoiler Alert!

22566644

Summary

At twenty-two, Keira Carver needs to find a husband, and quickly, but the prospects in her small medieval village are not looking too good. So when Aaron Drake, a handsome stranger, takes up residence at Storbrook Castle, set deep in the surrounding mountains, Keira takes notice. Just as interesting is the fact that a fire-breathing dragon has also moved into the neighborhood, and is rumored to live in caves beneath the mountain fortress. What exactly is the connection between Aaron Drake and the dragon? And when the dragon rescues her from the unwanted attentions of some village boys, who will set out to rescue her from the huge, scaly, fire-breathing monster?
(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I can’t believe I hit on two romance books that were so mind numbingly similar back to back on my Kindle. Bound By A Dragon can easily be skipped on your reading list.

It is so annoying when a period book uses modern colloquialisms. The language is so important in setting up a believable world. If the language breaks the time period, it can be forgiven if the characters are wonderfully written. If that were only the case here.

The Romance:

Relies on trite descriptions and frequent kissing. The romantic leads get married and are definitely newlyweds, but nothing is explicit. Similar to Dracula, blood is used as an orgasmic element. Keira licking the dragon’s blood off his scales causes Aaron to shudder in some kind of ecstasy . Yuck.

The Characters:

The characters are too predictable. Keira is intelligent and better than any other girl. Aaron is handsome, quick witted and rich. The sister is lazy and jealous – and my bet is she wants her own dragon in the next book, because who would want a man if you can be wed to a dragon? The town bullies are bigoted and and will turn the other way when faced with the misdeeds of their boys (they want to rape Keira). Keira’s mother is domineering and her father is stoic and wise.

Keira is also wishy-washy. I love him even if he is a dragon, oh you mean he has to eat people occasionally – well how can I love him, of course I love him, maybe I can’t face him eating the prisoners, oh well, everyone has to eat something – after all I eat chicken, that’s similar to man right? Ug.

The only reason this didn’t receive 1 star is because it’s pretty clean and not actually offensive. There are so many books that are fun and more creative.

2 out of 5 stars

2 star

  • the Mother

I would recommend Searching For Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede, Dragonsong and Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey and Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.

I would love to hear about books that you have loved reading!

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

