Cyberstorm – Another Apocalypse, and Storm and Invasion

Book Review : Cyberstorm
System Failure

By Mathew Mather

Spoiler Alert!

17699389

Summary

Sometimes the worst storms aren’t caused by Mother Nature, and sometimes the worst nightmares aren’t in the ones in our heads…

Mike Mitchell, an average New Yorker already struggling to keep his family together, suddenly finds himself fighting just to keep them alive when an increasingly bizarre string of disasters start appearing on the world’s news networks. As the world and cyberworlds come crashing down, bending perception and reality, a monster snowstorm cuts New York off from the world, becoming a wintry tomb where no one can be trusted, and nothing is what it seems…

CyberStorm is a techno-thriller set in present-day New York City that will appeal to fans of Michael Chichton and Tom Clancy as well as devotees of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson. It is an exploration of the human condition as the cyberworld collides with our own, a compelling portrait of a possible future that is all too terrifyingly real.
(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I like to try new books, authors and uncommon (for me) genres in the summer.

I can see where a book like Cyberstorm will have an audience, but I am the wrong audience.

Here’s the run down on my points of contention with Cyberstorm.

1- Characters:

All the characters felt pretty one dimensional. Even by the end of the book I had a hard time remembering the main character’s name. The characters are used to support the plot.

2- Plot:

The plot is driven by the external happenings. For example, how the people cope with all the technology crashing. A devastating storm cuts New York off from the outside world which introduces more complications. Would people really be driven to cannibalism within a month? I hope to never find out.

3- Gear

The gear, and the way the gear heads who figure out how to manipulate and reconfigure their technology, is the star of the show. I am not very interested in the gear (I like relationships much more than machinery).

I would think men would be more interested in Cyberstorm.

2 out of 5 stars

2 star

  • the Mother

If you liked this one try The Phoenix Conspiracy by Richard L. Sanders, I liked it more than Cyberstorm but it has the “nuts and bolts” writing style.

 

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

