In Good Company – A Must Read If You Love The Dictionary

Book Review : In Good Company
A Class of Their Own #2

By Jen Turano

Spoiler Alert!

23411534

Summary

After growing up as an orphan, Millie Longfellow is determined to become the best nanny the East Coast has ever seen. Unfortunately, her playfulness and enthusiasm aren’t always well received and she finds herself dismissed from yet another position.

Everett Mulberry has quite unexpectedly become guardian to three children that scare off every nanny he hires. About to depart for Newport, Rhode Island, for the summer, he’s desperate for competent childcare.

At wit’s end with both Millie and Everett, the employment agency gives them one last chance–with each other. As Millie falls in love with her mischievous charges, Everett focuses on achieving the coveted societal status of the upper echelons. But as he investigates the suspicious circumstances surrounding the death of the children’s parents, will it take the loss of those he loves to learn whose company he truly wants for the rest of his life? (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

In Good Company is a Christian romance set in the United States in the late 1800’s and is meant to feel like a period novel. However, the language and ideas are contemporary. I highly doubt so many men would find exasperating women to be so charming. In Good Company has more praying in it than After A Fashion, and might feel more like a Christian romance because of the frequent discussions centered on the theme of God directing our lives. I feel like prayer and our interaction with deity is too simplified to seem genuine in this book. A lighthearted book doesn’t feel like the right venue to try to have a serious discussion about God.

First; the good:

-The characters were likable and fun. I don’t think I care about the actress enough to read the third book in the trio.
-The situations were comical. In Good Company also has a mystery and murder.
-I laughed out loud even more than After A Fashion, particularly as Millie misuses words from her trusty dictionary.
-Guaranteed to be a clean romance.
-Super fun read.

Second; the bad:

-The language was very contemporary.
-Trite phrases.
-A predictable plot.
-I highly dislike this style of book cover.

There are no real plot twists, but many funny situations. I enjoyed reading this as a light summer book. From a literary point of view it doesn’t have any redeeming value, but I still am giving it 3 stars because of the fun characters and Millie’s didactic, or could I mean erratic, use of her dictionary.

3 out of 5 stars
3 star

  • the Mother

If you liked this one try Sorcery and Cecilia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia Wrede and Austenland by Shannon Hale.

Advertisements

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s