Harry Potter and The Cursed Child – Does It Live Up To The Legacy?

Book/Play Script Review : Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

By J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Spoiler Alert!

29056083

Summary

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I was very torn about reading The Cursed Child because I didn’t want it to ruin the wonder I felt through the whole Harry Potter series. This is also a play script which feels very different than a book. When reading a script I feel like I am filling in more details because the background is a a sketch of words, feelings or intent are sometimes noted and the majority of the text is the dialogue.

Harry seemed a bit loopy and I wanted him to be more involved with Albus. The authors did explain why Harry was a bit stilted as a parent – because he wasn’t raised by parents which was completely reasonable. However, there are other characters who weren’t raised by their parents and seemed to cope quite well.

Albus is a great character. He has integrity; even defying his family to befriend the friendless Malfoy boy, Scorpius. His struggle felt very real as he was compared to his father’s legend. I also liked Scorpius because he was such a surprise, and misunderstood by his father.

I did not like the deviation in personality of the Trolley Witch. She is such a minor character, but she seems like such a sweet granny. I thought Rose’s character was underdeveloped, particularly if Scorpius has a crush on her. (We will have to assume she is really cute because she was always very rude to Scorpius.) I’m having a hard time making the leap into suspended disbelief that Voldemort could have fathered a child. Hmmm, nope, still can’t imagine him having a child.

There were a couple of moments that made me smile. Overall, I didn’t feel like there was new magic or details about the wizarding world that were revealed. One of the things in the original series that kept me reading was to learn more about Harry’s magic world.

Essentially I am saying The Cursed Child did not live up to the legacy of the original series, but I enjoyed it for what it is. Would anything have lived up to the legend? Perhaps not, and that might be the actual curse.

3 out of 5 stars

3 star

  • the Mother

If you liked this one try the original Harry Potter series by Rowling (if somehow you have lived in a cave and missed it).

Otherwise, some of my favorite series that feature magic include, and in not particular order:

The Queen’s Poisoner by Jeff Wheeler
The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
 A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr
The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson
Sorcery and Cecilia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia Wrede
Beauty and The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
The Gray Wolf Throne series by Cinda Williams Chima
Incarceron by Katherine Fisher
A Stranger To Command by Sherwood Smith
Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey.

If I thought about it I know I could come up with more titles, but that should be enough to find something interesting.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

