The Earl’s London Bride – What Do You Get With A Free Romance On Kindle?

Book Review : The Earl’s London Bride
The Chase Brides

By Lauren Royal and Devon Royal

Kindle Edition

Spoiler Alert!

27850032

Summary

The Earl’s London Bride” is the SWEET & CLEAN ROMANCE edition of “Amethyst” by Lauren Royal.
London, 1666: Amethyst Goldsmith makes dazzling jewelry, but her future isn’t nearly as bright as the pieces she creates. Though custom dictates she wed her father’s apprentice, her heart rebels against the match. In mere days Amy will be condemned to a stifling, loveless marriage, and she sees no way out—until the devastating fire of 1666 sweeps through London, and tragedy lands her in the arms of a dashing young earl who knows a diamond in the rough when he sees it…

Colin Chase, the Earl of Greystone, has his future all figured out. He’s restoring his crumbling castle and estate to its former glory, and the key to its completion is his rich bride-to-be. But the Great Fire lays waste to his plans, saddling him with trouble—in the form of a penniless shopkeeper’s daughter with whom he’s most inconveniently falling in love… (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

Romance is a sticky genre to review. Too often kisses are electric, warm, the feeling extends to her toes, caressed, ect. Unfortunately, these descriptions seem trite after the third description (often jumping from one book to another with the same basic description – HELP!). For a romance book to be enjoyable I need to be surprised, enchanted and have a good back story. I think I like romance novels, but in actuality there are very few that I feel like I would ever read again.

In The Earl’s London Bride I thought the setting was above average. The backdrop is during the Restoration of King Charles II in London. The Great Fire of London in 1666 is the catalyst for the romance of Colin and Amy. At this point I had great hope for the plot.

I was sadly mistaken. The plot devolved into maudlin dialogue and stolen kisses that melt, ect. I actually got excited when Colin was sent off to France by King Charles because I was looking forward to more historical facts.

Colin’s character enjoys practical jokes. I have never understood pranks like this and it put me off of him as a romantic lead. Amy was good natured about the jokes and appreciated his humor. There is a lot of angst over class and the appropriateness of their relationship.

Amy is written with many modern values which seem inconsistent with the time. I doubt women would have questioned who they were marrying so deeply because women had financial security through a marriage. It is fully conceivable that she would have worked in her family’s trade and unlikely that her husband would have wanted her to exclusively raise a family. The family trade was essential for survival and everyone participated for survival. There was some upward mobility in class with merchants and the nobility. It was always due to money and titles being joined.

Spoiler alert! When they have a child and name her Jewel, I just about threw the story out. So inane!

In the end I’m barely giving it 3 stars (Honestly, I might knock it down to 2 except for the fact that the time period was interesting).

It is a clean romance (with heavy kissing), though silly. In the end I feel like I got what I expected. Not much, but the price was right.

(Ok, I just knocked the stars down. It’s just too stupid to give it a better rating.)

2.5 out of 5 stars
2 1:2 star

  • the Mother
  • Romance novel’s that I have enjoyed include The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, Sorcery and Cecilia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia Wrede, Possession by A. S. Byatt, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and other classics by Jane Austen.
  • If you have a romance that you think is terrific please let me know!
About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

