Her Best Match – Will This Romance Be Your Match?

Book Review : Her Best Match
The Best Girls Series

By Tamie Dearen

Kindle Edition

Spoiler Alert!

23007653

Summary

Anne Best was bored with her life in Texas. But when this feisty forty-five year old starts a new life in the Big Apple working for Gherring Inc., she stumbles into more adventure than she bargained for.

Billionaire Steven Gherring always makes the Most Eligible Bachelors list, but he’s given up looking for love.

Gherring’s grandmother, known to everyone as Gram, is on a not-so-secret campaign to find a wife for her grandson.

When veteran matchmaker, Anne Best, joins forces with Gram to find a match for Gherring, passions rise along with hemlines.

Will they find a match for Gherring?
And will Anne take a chance on love?

Filled with lovable characters, plenty of romance and frequent plots twists, Her Best Match will have you tingling with anticipation and laughing out loud.
(Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

 

Here I am trying a modern romance, again. I’ve just about concluded this just isn’t my genre.

From the beginning we know that Anne and Mr. Darcy *cough* I meant, Mr. Gherring will fall in love. The main question is how many obstacles will get in their way before the finale. I counted four. Her Best Match falls under the category of a Pride and Prejudice formula or a Cinderella story. I quite liked this one at first, but 5 hours is too long to invest for such a straight forward book.

Anne Best discusses the mundane with her daughters, but fails to tell them she is ‘liking’ a man. Anne also becomes friends with everyone in New York very quickly. (An employee I had from New York never warmed up to the other employees for over a year when I was a manager, so I found this to be unbelievable.) Anne’s spunky personality is what I would describe as mercurial and would drive me nuts in a real person, but is fun for a character in a book. By the end we discover how devious Gram really is as a matchmaker, but truly is she clairvoyant?

There were a few missing words, misspelled words and once the author said Anne had been on her own for 10 years instead of 15. These little inconsistencies make me a bit crazy on electronic books. And, I do the same on this blog – so we all need to self edit better.

This is considered a “clean” romance since the characters aren’t sleeping together, but I wouldn’t want my teen daughter reading it since it is full of orgasmic kissing. Every touch elicits a tingle, and the hope for more and every kiss releases a moan. It just gets to be too much. I’ve even seen it listed as a Christian romance since Anne says she will pray for others and mentions God occasionally. There must be something better for a romance. Her Best Match wasn’t my best match.

Calling all romance readers please send in a recommendation! An intelligent romance please!

2.5 out of 5 stars
2 1:2 star
– Michelle

Romance novel’s that I remember liking include The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, Sorcery and Cecilia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia Wrede, Possession by A. S. Byatt, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and, of course, anything by the real Jane Austen.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

