Legend in Green Velvet – A Book To Read On The Beach, or Plane or When In Scotland

Book Review : Legend In Green Velvet

By Elizabeth Peters

Spoiler Alert!

2037434

Summary

Susan loved all things Scottish. So, when the opportunity presented itself, there was no question in her mind but that she would go to the archaeological dig in the Highlands. It was everything she could have wanted, and more. Much more.A cryptic message slipped to Susan by a sinister soap box orator was the first puzzle. Why did he choose her? Why was he chasing her? And why, Susan had to wonder, were she and the handsome young laird Jamie Erskine suddenly being pursued by the police who wanted to talk to them about. . .murder? (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I was given a copy of Legend In Green Velvet while sitting on the beach after I had finished the book I had brought. I remember loving Elizabeth Peter’s series that begins with Crocodile On The Sandbank and was very excited to read this book.

I was surprised. Legend In Green Velvet misses the mark set by Radcliff and Peabody (characters from Crocodile On The Sandbank), but was still fun for a quick, light read. It was obviously written a long time ago and has some funny social taboos for todays world. I could see glimpses of future characters peeking out of the pages. James Erskine, the macho heart throb is a bit like Radcliff. However, James, also called Jamie, belts a woman across the jaw when he thinks she will start screaming for help – most unchivalrous! Even Susan is surprised that the recipient of such a hit would hold it against Jamie.

Just so you don’t think Peters is completely off her game here is a quote that I loved:

“He had a mane of white hair and bushy white eyebrows, as thick and as animated as the tails of Angora kittens.” (p.104)

Have you ever known a man with eyebrows like kittens’ tails? I have! She nailed that description!

It’s not a book to reread, but it was fun for a beach read.

3 out of 5 stars
3 star
– Michelle

Definitely read Crocodile On The Sandbank! Also try some books like The Raven Ring by Patricia Wrede and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

