A Conjuring Of Light – Or Did You Get Swallowed In Darkness?

Book Review : A Conjuring Of Light
Shades of Magic

By V.E. Schwab

Spoiler Alert!

29939230

Summary

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay. (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I was excited to finish this series. I really enjoyed the first book, the second not as much and the third very little. I had to take a month break in the middle of reading – never a good sign – and only ended up sitting it down again for another couple of weeks. I finally had a long drive (and I was not the driver) and determined I was going to finish the book no matter what.

It turned out the first half was the slower half and the second half was better than the first. I had to slog through all the descriptions of the darkness taking over, the oppressive cognizant force that wanted to devour all the magic. I’m afraid even that description is too exciting for how I felt. The best description I can muster is that it felt gray, rather depressing and didn’t encourage me to keep reading.

I know many people won’t like this next bit. I don’t understand homosexual attraction and so the love scenes between Alucard and the prince fall flat for me. However, I also don’t like to read any explicit love scenes in any book.

Another big reason I didn’t like A Conjuring Of Light was the language. The cursing is more pronounced and I didn’t think it particularly necessary. Again, I know foul language doesn’t bother a lot of readers, but I do think you should have the heads up if you like to have a clean read.

Lila Bard, is finally revealed to be an Antari. I did like her character, though she didn’t have personal growth. She continues to be brash through the entire series. She sees everything as a challenge, and it gets her in trouble.

Kell and Holland had the most growth as characters. Kell works through feelings of being entrapped and finds a sense of freedom. Holland’s growth is a return to his former idealistic self, as he wants to see a restoration to his world rather than being a source of destruction.

I can’t really recommend this series anymore because I didn’t like the turns in the plot. The quality of writing is fine.

2 out of 5 stars
2 star
– Michelle

Other (young adult) fantasy books I recommend include : 

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima
Serphina by Rachel Hartman
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
The Raven Ring by Patricia C. Wrede
The Queen’s Poisoner by Jeff Wheeler
A Cast of Stone by Patrick W. Carr

More (adult) books I recommend include:

Date Night On Union Station by E. M. Foner (humorous, science fiction)
Lady of Devices by Shelley Adina (light steampunk, it might be YA)
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell By Susanna Clarke (historical Regency fantasy)
Sorcery & Cecelia: or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot By Patricia Wrede & Caroline Stevermer (historical Regency fantasy)
Sword of the Lamb, The Phoenix Legacy series By M.K. Wren (science fiction)
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (fantasy)
Crystal Singer by Anne McCaffrey (light science fiction)

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

