UnEnchanted – Do Fairy Tales Have A Happy Ending?

Book Review : UnEnchanted
By Chanda Hahn

ebook

Spoiler Alert!

13402447

Summary

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated; until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her new found fame brings misfortune in the form of an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her it’s next fairytale victim.  (Courtesy of goodreads.com)

Adult Point of View

I read UnEnchanted several months ago, and as a true confession – I forgot to write a review. It was a positively fun read. I liked Mina, because everyone can relate to the girl that never has anything go right. She is caught in a mess and doesn’t know who to trust. Her friend Nan is even more fun because she is over-the-top and more than the portrait she portrays to the world. The fairy world has certainly been untrustworthy for generations of Grime’s. I also loved the “prince charming”. Again, he wasn’t quite what one expected. I liked the small twists in the plots of the fairy tales.

As with many free ebooks there are grammatical errors. Ebooks should have better editing, but this is a common problem.

UnEnchanted is perfect for a light summer read. It’s a great book for teens, free of foul language and anything else raunchy. I recommend it!

3 out of 5 stars

 
-Michelle

I also suggest Beauty by Robin McKinley (or most anything from this author) if you were a fan of UnEnchanted.

About Tales Untangled

I am a mother of four children and have a passion for reading. I love sharing my treasury of books with my kids. I also do experiments in cooking which includes such things as Indian Tandoori Chicken slow cooked in a tagine. Weekly I get together with friends and go to yoga for a bit of mommy time. Some may find me quirky, I prefer to think I am one of a kind.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

