Tag Archives: light read

Legend in Green Velvet – A Book To Read On The Beach, or Plane or When In Scotland

Book Review : Legend In Green Velvet By Elizabeth Peters Spoiler Alert! Summary Susan loved all things Scottish. So, when the opportunity presented itself, there was no question in her mind but that she would go to the archaeological dig in … Continue reading

Posted in grown up books reviewed | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Little Selkie – Definitely Not A Mermaid

Book Review : The Little Selkie Timeless Fairy Tales #5 e-book By K. M. Shea Spoiler Alert! Summary Dylan—a selkie—makes a terrible mistake when she brashly chases an evil sea witch onto land. Captured and stripped of her pelt—leaving her unable to return … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Cinderella and the Colonel – A Guide To Paying Your Taxes

Book Review : Cinderella and the Colonel Timeless Fairy Tales #3 e-book By K. M. Shea Spoiler Alert! Summary Scratching out a living in a land recovering from war and a hostile takeover, Cinderella—an orphaned, destitute duchess—is desperate to save her lands … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Sleeping Beauty – Retelling Fairy Tales Is Irresistible

Book Review : Sleeping Beauty Timeless Fairy Tales #8 e-book By K. M. Shea Spoiler Alert! Summary Briar Rose, a clever peasant girl, feels only pity for the mysterious Princess Rosalinda–the hidden princess who was cursed to prick her finger on a spindle … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Winter Sea – Hope For Spring

Book Review : The Winter Sea By Susanna Kearsley Spoiler Alert! Summary In the spring of 1708, an invading Jacobite fleet of French and Scottish soldiers nearly succeeded in landing the exiled James Stewart in Scotland to reclaim his crown. Now, … Continue reading

Posted in grown up books reviewed | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Penderwicks – A Madcap Adventure

Book Review : The Penderwicks A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy By Jeanne Birdsall Spoiler Alert!   Summary A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward … Continue reading

Posted in All Time Favorites, children's books, grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

A Hiss-tory Of Magic – A Clever Title Doesn’t Make For A Clever Book

Book Review : A Hiss-tory Of Magic A Wonder Cats Mystery By Harper Lin e-book Spoiler Alert! Summary Cath Greenstone, her cousin Bea, and her hippie aunt Astrid live in Wonder Falls, a small town near the mystical Niagara Falls. … Continue reading

Posted in grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment