Tag Archives: quest

Ever the Hunted – Will You Want to Continue the Hunt?

Ever the Hunted a Clash of Kingdoms novel By Erin Summerill Spoiler Alert!   Summary Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Furthermore – Will You Want More?

Furthermore By Tahereh Mafi Spoiler Alert! Summary Alice Alexis Queensmeadow 12 rates three things most important: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. Father disappeared from Ferenwood with only a ruler, almost three … Continue reading

Posted in middle-grade books | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Woven – Will It Have You In Stitches?

Book Review : Woven By Michael Jensen & David Powers King Spoiler Alert! Summary Two unlikely allies must journey across a kingdom in the hopes of thwarting death itself. All his life, Nels has wanted to be a knight of the … Continue reading

Posted in All Time Favorites, children's books, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Candy Shop War – A Moral Tale

Book Review: The Candy Shop War By Brandon Mull Spoiler Alert! Summary What if there were a place where you could get magical candy? Moon rocks that made you feel weightless. Jawbreakers that made you unbreakable. Or candy that gave … Continue reading

Posted in children's books, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Penderwicks – A Madcap Adventure

Book Review : The Penderwicks A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy By Jeanne Birdsall Spoiler Alert!   Summary A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward … Continue reading

Posted in All Time Favorites, children's books, grown up books reviewed, middle-grade books, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Calamity -How Does Sanderson Pull Together An Unlikely Premise?

Book Review : Calamity The Reckoners By Brandon Sanderson Spoiler Alert! Summary When Calamity lit up the sky, the Epics were born. David’s fate has been tied to their villainy ever since that historic night. Steelheart killed his father. Firefight stole … Continue reading

Posted in All Time Favorites, grown up books reviewed, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Prophecy – What Makes This Book A Standout?

Book Review : Prophecy The Dragon King Chronicles #1 By Ellen Oh Spoiler Alert! Summary Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and the prince’s bodyguard. She’s a demon slayer and an outcast, hated by nearly everyone in her home … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Secrets of Sinbad’s Cave –

Book Review : The Secret of Sinbad’s Cave The Natnat Adventures By Brydie Walker Bain e-book Spoiler Alert! Summary Nat Sheppard’s world is turned upside down on the first day of the school holidays by the discovery of a secret room … Continue reading

Posted in children's books, young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Bands of Mourning – A Mistborn Novel

Book Review: The Bands of Mourning A Mistborn Novel By Brandon Sanderson Spoiler Alert! Summary With The Alloy of Law and Shadows of Self, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Times bestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after … Continue reading

Posted in All Time Favorites, grown up books reviewed | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“The Door in the Moon” – What Does This Title Reference?

Book Review: The Door in the Moon Obsidian Mirror Book 3 By Catherine Fisher Spoiler Alert! Summary      This New York Times bestselling author once again shows us that she is a master of world-building and surprising plot-twists. The vast, … Continue reading

Posted in young adult book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment