THE BEST LIFE BOOK CLUB—Self-Improvement and Romance

THE BEST LIFE BOOK CLUB

Sheila Roberts

Summary

It started as a book club. It became a way to build a better life together.

Karissa Newcomb is ready for a new start in a new neighborhood, as far away as she can get from Seattle, where her husband cheated on her with the neighbor who was supposed to be her best friend. She and her nine-year-old daughter are moving on to the city of Gig Harbor on the bay in Puget Sound. She even has a new job as an assistant at a small publishing company right in Gig Harbor. Her new boss seems like a bit of a curmudgeon, but a job is a job, she loves to read, and the idea of possibly meeting writers sounds fabulous.

Soon she finds she’s not the only one in need of a refresh. Her new neighbors, Alice and Margot, are dealing with their own crises. Alice is still grieving her late husband and hasn’t been able to get behind the wheel of a car since a close call after his death. Margot is floundering after getting divorced and laid off in quick succession. They could all use a distraction, and a book club seems like just the ticket. Together, the three women, along with Alice’s grumpy older sister, Josie, embark on a literary journey that just might be the kick start they need to begin building their best lives yet.

Goodreads.com

Review

My thanks for the ARC goes the NetGalley and Harlequin Trade Publishing, MIRA. I’m voluntarily leaving a review.

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction, Book about Books
Spice Level: Sweet
Language: I don’t remember any swearing
Format: Multiple-POV

THE BEST LIFE BOOK CLUB draws us into four women’s lives. They’re different ages and at different stages of life except that they’re all single. The book club brings them together, and they learn from the books they read. (There’s a bit more to that, but I don’t want to spoil it for you.)

Karissa is the first woman introduced, and I felt like she is the primary protagonist. A single mom who has just moved, and her trust is shattered. She’s rebuilding for herself and her child. I felt like her kiddo was almost always at her dad’s because she wasn’t on the page much.

Alice, Karissa’s neighbor, lost the love of her life and has somewhat shut down her life. She is sweet and demure.

Josie is Alice’s sister, and also a widow, though she doesn’t miss her husband. She is brusque.

Margot is another neighbor, but she and her husband divorced equitably. She’s managing her life and figuring out her relationship with her mom.

I wanted to feel more deeply connected to the characters. Mind you, I knew how each one felt, but it didn’t seem as interior as I expected. I cheered for the women as they made strides to improve their lives. This was a fun book that centers around self-improvement and change, and I recommend it. The literary bent of it is fun.

Happy reading!
– Michelle

About Tales Untangled

My favorite genres are romance and fantasy, and I write both. I love sharing my treasury of books with my four kids and husband.
This entry was posted in grown up books reviewed, romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment